Skip to main content

First Hurricanes Under-20 side named

Wed 18th Feb

For the first time in their 20 year history, the Hurricanes have named an under-20 side featuring a strong mix of players from throughout the region.

The team will face off against the only other New Zealand Super Rugby franchise to have an under-20 side, the Blues, at Taupo's Owen Delany Park next Wednesday.

Hurricanes Under-20 coach Darren Larsen said the side was created in order to bridge the gap between the already existing under-18 and development teams within the Super Rugby set-up.

"As well as that, it's a bit of a stepping stone for the guys who play in the under-19 regional competition, and it's also another opportunity for those who are in the running for New Zealand Under-20 selection to have an extra run."

The Hurricanes side features eight players who have been recalled to the New Zealand Under-20 camp taking place in early March, while three others were part of the initial trial.

Three Hurricanes squad members have also been named, with Leni Apisai, Otere Black and Vince Aso all starting Wednesday's match. Although injured, Hugh Renton will also travel with the team.

Larsen said while the new initiative was a one-off game, it was a great opportunity for some of the younger players to put their hands up for Hurricanes Development selection, with that team set to have their first match against the Crusaders in Porirua on March 5.

"When it comes down to it, it's also another fantastic chance for the guys to get themselves in that Hurricanes jersey and represent our brand."

The Hurricanes U20 side to face the Blues on February 25, kick-off 1.30pm is;

1. Vincent Sakaria (Wellington)

2. Leni Apisai (Wellington/Hurricanes)

3. Morgan Poi (Wellington)

4. Sanaila Waqa (Hawke's Bay)

5. Liam Hallam-Eames (Wellington)

6. James Blackwell (Wellington)

7. Nathan Tweedy (Manawatu)

8. Teariki Ben Nicholas (Wellington)

9. Jamie Booth (Manawatu)

10. Otere Black (Manawatu/Hurricanes)

11. Jonah Lowe (Hawke's Bay)

12. Wes Goosen (Wellington)

13. Vince Aso (Auckland/Hurricanes)

14. Mason Emerson (Hawke's Bay)

15. Nick Biss (Hawke's Bay)


16. Travis Taylor (Manawatu)

17. Kielan Henry (Manawatu)

18. Sean Morrison (Hawke's Bay)

19. Sam Wasley (Wellington)

20. James Grogan (Poverty Bay)

21. Sam Malcolm (Manawatu)

22. Lester Maulolo (Wellington)

23. Faraimo Nofoaiga (Wellington)

Latest News

Hurricanes squad named to face Crusaders in Christchurch

Fri 5th Mar

A handful of tweaks have been made to the Hurricanes starting line-up ahead of Sunday’s clash with the Crusaders in Christchurch.

The Hurricanes are...

Match Report: Hurricanes v Blues

Mon 1st Mar

The Hurricanes have started their season with a 31 – 16 loss to the Blues at Sky Stadium.

Viewers were treated to plenty of action from kick-off,...

Ardie Savea: Centurion 16

Mon 1st Mar

Rugby fan or not, you would be hard-pressed to find a New Zealander who doesn’t know about Ardie Savea.

The 27-year-old loose forward is as likeable...