Skip to main content

Team Named for Saturday's Clash Against the Waratahs

Thu 12th May

The Hurricanes are preparing for their next match on Australian soil as they head to Sydney to take on the Waratahs this Saturday, 9:45PM NZT at Leichhardt Oval.  

Head Coach Jason Holland has named his squad with few changes to the 23 that comfortably beat the Fijian Drua on Sunday. 

The tight five remains largely unchanged, with the only change being the return of James Blackwell to the second row, following last week's rest. 

Following a series of strong outings off the bench, TK Howden will make a return to the number 6 jersey. Ardie Savea returns to captain his side after taking an enforced rest week, replacing last week's number 8, Tyler Laubscher, who is out with a minor Injury following an impressive debut on Sunday. 

With last week's captain TJ Perenara on his rest week, Jamie Booth replaces him in the number 9 jersey. 

After a solid performance last week, Aidan Morgan retains his starting spot at 10.  

The return of Jordie Barrett sees a re-shuffle in the back line with Billy Proctor moving to the bench and Julian Savea slotting in at 14. Barrett will be partnered by the electric and ever-consistent, Bailyn Sullivan. 

Josh Moorby starts again at fullback after last Sunday’s hat-trick performance.  

Dane Coles and Owen Franks will bring significant experience from a combined 189 test matches to the Hurricanes when they come off the bench again on Saturday. Their presence in the Fijian Drua match brought a physical edge to the team and that will be no different this weekend. 

The match will mark the 50th Super Rugby match the Hurricanes have played in Australia. 


Hurricanes team to face the Waratahs: 

1. Xavier Numia 

2. Asafo Aumua 

3. Tyrel Lomax 

4. James Blackwell 

5. Justin Sangster 

6. TK Howden 

7. Du’Plessis Kirifi 

8. Ardie Savea [c] 

9. Jamie Booth 

10. Aidan Morgan 

11. Salesi Rayasi 

12. Jordie Barrett 

13. Bailyn Sullivan 

14. Julian Savea 

15. Josh Moorby 



16. Dane Coles 

17. Tevita Mafileo 

18. Owen Franks 

19. Isaia Walker-Leawere 

20. Caleb Delany 

21. Cameron Roigard 

22. Jackson Garden-Bachop 

23. Billy Proctor 


Unavailable for selection: Devan Flanders, Ruben Love, Brayden Iose, Reed Prinsep, Pepesana Patafilo, Blake Gibson, Tyler Laubscher 

Unavailable due to All Blacks rest week: TJ Perenara 

Latest News

Whanganui-born First Five Brett Cameron Signs with the Hurricanes

Mon 25th Jul

Former Crusaders First Five Brett Cameron has put pen to paper to join the Hurricanes for 2023 DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition. 

Following a...

Hawke’s Bay Duo Recommit to Hurricanes Through 2024

Mon 27th Jun

The Hurricanes today announced that Hawke’s Bay players, powerful lock Isaia Walker-Leawere and loosie Devan Flanders, have recommitted to the Club...

Josh Moorby recommits to the Hurricanes for 2023 and 2024

Mon 20th Jun

For former Southland Stags outside back Josh Moorby (Ngāti Maniapoto), 2022 just keeps getting better and better.  

The Hurricanes today announced...