Skip to main content

Hurricanes Team Named to Take on The Brumbies in Canberra

Thu 28th Apr

The Hurricanes are preparing for the next stop in their Australian tour, as they head to Canberra to take on the 2nd ranked Super Rugby Pacific side, the Brumbies, on Sunday. 

Head Coach Jason Holland has named his run-on side with few changes to the 23 that beat the Reds on Saturday. 

Hooker James O’Reilly returns from injury, moving recent debutant Kianu Kereru-Symes onto the bench to provide cover.  

Bay of Plenty lock Justin Sangster returns to the starting line-up to partner James Blackwell, while last week’s starter Isaia Walker-Leawere moves to add impact off the bench. 

Te Kamaka (TK) Howden steps up for an injured Reed Prinsep at blindside, with Prinsep returning to New Zealand following an injury received during warmup on Saturday.  

Jackson Garden-Bachop is set to direct traffic at 10, with last week’s first five, Aidan Morgan, moving to the reserves. Salesi Rayasi replaces Wes Goosen on the left wing. 

“We’re looking to Jacko to give us a lot of composure and to run the game really well early on, and Aids will be pretty dynamic coming off the bench in the backend of the game.” 

Bailyn Sullivan retains the number 13 jersey after a two-try effort in the come from behind win over the Reds last weekend, he will be partnered again by second-five Peter Umaga-Jensen.  

“The consistency part there is nice. Both boys played really well I thought. As I’ve said before, I'm really keen for the boys to take the opportunities when they play, and both Pete and Bailyn were pretty dynamic and tidied up some of the little parts of their game. We challenged them to do so, so they get rewarded for that,” said Holland. 

The two sides last met in June 2021, in Canberra, with the Brumbies winning 12-10 in a closely fought match.  

The Hurricanes take on the Brumbies this Sunday, 1 May, 4PM NZT at GIO Stadium, Canberra. The match will be televised live on Sky Sport. 

Hurricanes team to take on the Brumbies:       

1. Pouri Rakete-Stones   
2. James O’Reilly   
3. Tyrel Lomax   
4. James Blackwell   
5. Justin Sangster   
6. Te Kamaka (TK) Howden   
7. Blake Gibson   
8. Ardie Savea (c)   
9. TJ Perenara   
10. Jackson Garden-Bachop   
11. Salesi Rayasi   
12. Peter Umaga-Jensen   
13. Bailyn Sullivan    
14. Julian Savea   
15. Jordie Barrett   

16. Kianu Kereru-Symes   
17. Xavier Numia   
18. Tevita Mafileo   
19. Isaia Walker-Leawere   
20. Caleb Delany   
21. Jamie Booth    
22. Aidan Morgan   
23. Billy Proctor   

Unavailable for selection due to injury or suspension: Asafo Aumua, Du'Plessis Kirifi, Devan Flanders, Ruben Love, Owen Franks, Dane Coles, Brayden Iose, Reed Prinsep, Pepesana Patafilo.   


Latest News

Hurricanes Team Named to take on the Rebels at Sky Stadium

Thu 19th May

The Hurricanes have named their side to take on the Melbourne Rebels this coming Saturday, in what will be their final home match of the regular...

Hurricanes U20 team named for Bunnings Warehouse Super Rugby U20s

Wed 18th May

The Hurricanes have named their final squad to head to the Bunnings Warehouse Super Rugby U20 competition in Taupō later this week. 

The squad –...

Team Named for Saturday's Clash Against the Waratahs

Thu 12th May

The Hurricanes are preparing for their next match on Australian soil as they head to Sydney to take on the Waratahs this Saturday, 9:45PM NZT at...