Skip to main content

Hurricanes Team Named for Moana Pasifika Clash at Sky Stadium

Mon 11th Apr

After a nail-biting finish against the Crusaders on Saturday, the Hurricanes return to Sky Stadium on Tuesday when they host Moana Pasifika in Round 9 of the DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition. 

Head Coach Jason Holland has named a new look side, with some notable names missing due to the short turn around between games.  

The front row gets a complete overhaul, with props Alex Fidow and Tevita Mafileo being named in the starting line-up, alongside hooker James O’Reilly. On the bench, Kianu Kereru-Symes, Jared Proffit and Pasilio Tosi will add power at set piece, with Proffit and Kereru-Symes with the potential to debut. 

Lock Isaia Walker-Leawere returns from long-term injury and partners newcomer Tom Parsons, while Bay of Plenty lock Justin Sangster looks to add impact off the bench.  

Flanker Reed Prinsep will captain his side from six, while Blake Gibson lines up at openside alongside Devan Flanders at eight. Te Kamaka (TK) Howden, who had a solid debut against the Crusaders on Saturday will look to provide cover off the bench. 

Dynamic Aidan Morgan is set to direct traffic at 10, while Salesi Rayasi starts on the left and Wes Goosen retains his spot on the wing. 

In the midfield, Peter Umaga-Jensen starts at second-five, with Bailyn Sullivan at centre. Taranaki Captain and former Highlander Teihorangi Walden will provide cover off the bench. 

Ruben Love will start at number 15, with the impressive Hamilton born fullback Josh Moorby ready to provide cover after an impressive game against the Crusaders on Saturday. 

Fans are welcomed to #OurHouse for the third time this season as they take on Moana Pasifika, Tuesday, 12 April at 7:05PM – secure your tickets here

Metlink is also offering 50% off travel to all passengers travelling on all bus and train services throughout the month of April.   


Hurricanes team to face Moana Pasifika:    

1 Alex Fidow 
2 James O'Reilly 
3 Tevita Mafileo 
4 Isaia Walker-Leawere 
5 Tom Parsons 
6 Reed Prinsep [c] 
7 Blake Gibson 
8 Devan Flanders 
9 TJ Perenara 
10 Aidan Morgan 
11 Salesi Rayasi 
12 Peter Umaga-Jensen 
13 Bailyn Sullivan 
14 Wes Goosen 
15 Ruben Love 

16 Kianu Kereru-Symes * 
17 Jared Proffit * 
18 Pasilio Tosi 
19 Justin Sangster 
20 Te Kamaka Howden 
21 Cam Roigard 
22 Teihorangi Walden 
23 Josh Moorby 

* Denotes debut 

Latest News

Hurricanes Team Named to take on the Rebels at Sky Stadium

Thu 19th May

The Hurricanes have named their side to take on the Melbourne Rebels this coming Saturday, in what will be their final home match of the regular...

Hurricanes U20 team named for Bunnings Warehouse Super Rugby U20s

Wed 18th May

The Hurricanes have named their final squad to head to the Bunnings Warehouse Super Rugby U20 competition in Taupō later this week. 

The squad –...

Team Named for Saturday's Clash Against the Waratahs

Thu 12th May

The Hurricanes are preparing for their next match on Australian soil as they head to Sydney to take on the Waratahs this Saturday, 9:45PM NZT at...