Skip to main content

Hurricanes name team to take on Stormers in Cape Town

Thu 30th Jan

TJ Perenara and Jordie Barrett are set to start for the Hurricanes in the Super Rugby opener against the Stormers on Sunday.

It’ll be the first time Perenara has led the Hurricanes in his new capacity as official co-captain.

The 23-man squad also boasts the experience of Ngani Laumape at second-five and Gareth Evans in the number-eight jersey.

Fletcher Smith has earned himself a start as first-five with Jackson Garden-Bachop on the bench.

Several Hurricanes debutants have been named in the starting line-up, including former Blues lock, Scott Scrafton and former Highlanders prop, Tyrel Lomax.

Both have had game time in pre-season, but Scrafton says this is what they’ve been working towards.

“Those last two games were good to blow the cobwebs out, but now it’s business time. We’ve learnt and we’re ready to get stuck into the season.

Head coach, Jason Holland, says pre-season was useful

“We worked hard through our pre-season matches at improving parts of our game and performance. Nobody shows too much in pre-season games, so we are looking forward to trying a few things.”

Holland says every player named in this weekend’s squad knows it will be a tough game, especially since the Hurricanes haven’t won in Cape Town since 2006.

“The Stormers will be a physical challenge for us and we expect them to be very direct and attack us up front. We will look forward to that challenge and intend to put them under pressure with our style of rugby. We’ve had a thorough week in Cape Town and are in good shape heading into the weekend.”

The Hurricanes walked away with a 34 – 28 win against the Stormers last season. Several players, including Ben Lam, Ricky Riccitelli, James Blackwell and Wes Goosen were in that team and have been selected this time around.

Kick-off is 0205 NZT and will air on Sky Sport 1.

The team to face the Stormers in Cape Town is:

15 Jordie Barrett

14 Wes Goosen

13 Billy Proctor

12 Ngani Laumape

11 Ben Lam

10 Fletcher Smith

9 TJ Perenara [C]

8 Gareth Evans

7 Du’Plessis Kirifi

6 Reed Prinsep

5 Scott Scrafton

4 James Blackwell

3 Tyrel Lomax

2 Ricky Riccitelli

1 Fraser Armstrong


16 Asafo Auma

17 Pouri Rakete-Stones

18 Tevita Mafileo

19 Vaea Fifita

20 Devan Flanders

21 Jamie Booth

22 Jackson Garden-Bachop

23 Vince Aso

  • Join the Hurricanes 2020 membership family and write yourself into the latest chapter at Our House, Sky Stadium by clicking HERE.
  • Reserved seating for seven Hurricanes matches played at Sky Stadium
  • Adults from $129 Adult + Child $149
  • Free access to all home 2020 Hurricanes home playoff matches
  • Right To Purchase tickets for 2020 All Blacks matches played in New Zealand
  • Exclusive access to member events
    • Members Captain’s Run
    • Kids Coaching Clinic (Child members only)
    • Squad Meet & Greet
    • Rugby Analysis Evening

Latest News

Hurricanes name squad to face Sunwolves in Napier

Thu 27th Feb

Hawke’s Bay’s Hurricanes fans will be able to watch four of their own take to the field in Napier this Saturday.

Gareth Evans, Devan Flanders, Ben...

Hurricanes U20 side named to play in Napier

Wed 26th Feb

A strong 23-man Hurricanes Under 20s side has been named to play at Napier’s McLean Park on Saturday.

With kick-off at 2:05pm, the clash against the...

All-Time Hurricanes Magpies XV

Tue 25th Feb

Hawke’s Bay has always been an important part of the Hurricanes club since its inception in 1996.

That has included not only playing an important...