Skip to main content

Hurricanes name squad for Under-20’s tournament in Taupo

The Hurricanes have announced their 27-man squad for the annual Super Rugby U20’s tournament to take place in Taupō from 16-23 March.

The squad, features seven players returning from the 2023 squad, as well as two sets of brothers - set to take the field together for the first time at this level in Tom and Reuben Allen and Vernon and Mosese Bason.

Head Coach Darren Larsen said the team has been built up from the recent academy series (Sam Doyle Memorial Trophy) that was played between Wellington, Manawatū, and Hawke’s Bay.

From that series, a wider training group was selected, with two squads selected to take on the Chiefs and Crusaders a couple of weeks ago.

Larsen has now finalised his squad from those two matches, which includes ten returning players from last year’s tournament, and is confident and excited about the challenge that lies ahead.

“I’m very happy with the makeup of the squad we have for this tournament,” Larsen said.

“We’ve taken a few hits through injury losing two National Development Contract (NDC) boys in Konraad Newland and Logan Wallace who have been part of the national U19 wider playing group."

Larsen said while it was difficult to pick a squad from such a large talent pool, it was a testament to the depth available within the Hurricanes region.

“Selection is always hard when there’s so many talented players vying for a spot in the squad, but it’s also a positive to have multiple players who are looking to represent the club."

“This tournament is also about the exposure and development the players gain from being in a competition as strong as this, which not only includes the other NZ Super Rugby franchises but also Moana Pasifika and Fijian Drua. The players also have in the back of their minds that they will be up for NZ U20 selection for the World Cup, so they are ready to showcase their talent.”

They take on Fijian Drua this Saturday before progressing to the final stages of the tournament.

2024 Hurricanes U20 Squad:

Senio Sanele (Wellington), Vernon Bason (Manawatū), Joshua Smith (Hawke’s Bay), Tom Allen (Hawke’s Bay), Reuben Allen (Hawke’s Bay), Patrick Tuifua (Hawke’s Bay), Jeremiah Avei – Collins (Wellington), Mosese Bason (Manawatū), Jai Tamati (Manawatū), Liam O'Connor (Manawatū), CJ Mienie (Hawke’s Bay), Jack O'Brien (Wellington), Tofuka Paongo (Wellington), Pita Manamanaivalu (Manawatū), Sam Coles (Manawatū), Dylan Homan (Hawke’s Bay), Leon Tuiloma (Wellington), Salesa Seumanufagai (Wellington), Nathaniel Hauiti (Hawke’s Bay), Matolu Petaia (Wellington), Harry Irving (Wellington), Oscar Ritchie (Hawke’s Bay), Kade Manuel (Hawke’s Bay), Will Cole (Hawke’s Bay), Sunia Ragede (Hawke’s Bay), Bogi Kikau (Hawke’s Bay), Stanley Solomon (Wellington)



Latest News