Skip to main content

Hurricanes Under 20s Squad Named

Thirty-three emerging players from the Hurricanes region have been selected for the Hurricanes Under 20s Wider Squad. 

With representatives from four Hurricanes region provincial unions – the current group have come through the Hurricanes Development pathway via provincial union academies and development teams.  

Headlining the squad are NZ U20 and Hurricanes National Development Contracted players Harry Godfrey, Riley Higgins and Peter Lakai. Currently training with the Hurricanes, the talented teens will look to impose themselves on the competition. 

2021 NZ Secondary Schools representatives Chicago Doyle, Cooper Flanders, Siale Lauaki, Matt Monaghan and Jordi Viljoen are selected alongside 11 returnees, hoping to make their second tournament side. 

Hurricanes Heartland U20 Captain – Ezra Malo is the lone heartland representative in the side, with the Whanganui product having made three appearances for the Whanganui Heartland side in 2021. 

The tournament, initially scheduled for march was postponed due to the on-going impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic which will see an overlap with club rugby. As a result – the side will play, just one preseason game before the tournament proper. 

Hurricanes Recruitment & Development Manager, Darren Larsen acknowledged that the COVID-19 pandemic had caused some challenges with the tournament structure.  

“It’s great that the tournament is going ahead, albeit delayed. The delay  overlaps with club rugby, to minimise the disruption to club competitions, the decision was made to have just one preseason game.” 

“It was acknowledged from all sides that it is important for the players to have the opportunity to play in this competition to forward themselves into New Zealand Under-20s.” 

"It's always fantastic to see new young talent come through, and it's always great to see who's willing to work hard and take this opportunity.” 

"These boys will know they have a very real chance of turning rugby into a profession if they have a relentless approach to keep working hard.” 

The players will assemble in Palmerston North at the end of April for a connection camp – before the squad is narrowed to 28 for the second Super Rugby Aotearoa U20s tournament from May 22-28.  

2022 Hurricanes U20 Wider Squad: 

Ezra Malo 

Hawkes Bay 
Tino Savea 
Josiah Sakaria 
Matt Monaghan 
Cooper Flanders 
Harry Godfrey 
Bethel Malasia 
Amos Roddick 

Raymond Tuputupu 
Sase Va'a 
Feleti Sae Ta'ufo'ou 
Joshua Taula 
Malakai Ngatai 
Elyjah Crosswell 
Hunter Morrison 
Jordan Viljoen 
Isaiah Armstrong-Ravula 
Kyle Brown 
Tavita Henare-Schuster 
Logan Henry 

Joyner Gaualofa 
Siale Lauaki 
Bradley Crichton 
Nonu Tuia 
Maea Tema-Schmidt 
Dominic Ropeti 
Sione Halalilo 
Peter Lakai 
Chicago Doyle 
Sam Howling 
Logan Love 
Riley Higgins 
Isi Saumaki 

Head Coach: Darren Larsen (Hurricanes) 
Assistant Coach: Ellery Wilson (Hawkes Bay) 
Assistant Coach: Eugene Smith (Wellington) 
Team Manager: Chris Back (Whanganui) 
Team Liaison: Dion Cooper (Hawkes Bay/Taupo) 
Physiotherapist: Emma Lattey (Resource) 
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Jack Kovacs (Wellington)  
Strength & Conditioning Coach: Ayrton Yarrell (Hurricanes) 
Performance Analyst: Ryan Runciman (Hurricanes) 

Latest News