Skip to main content

Hurricanes Team Named for Clash Against the Highlanders in Dunedin

Thu 14th Apr

After their 53-12 win against Moana Pasifika on Tuesday, the Hurricanes are preparing to head to Dunedin this Easter weekend to take on the Highlanders in Round 9 of the DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition. 

Due the short turnaround between games, Head Coach Jason Holland has named a new look run-on side for the Hurricanes, with only 7 players backing up since Tuesday's clash.  

In the front row, Pouri Rakete-Stones and hooker Asafo Aumua return to the action for the first time since taking on the Crusaders, with only Tevita Mafileo retaining his starting spot. On the bench, Xavier Numia and recent debutants Kianu Kereru-Symes and Pasilio Tosi will look to provide cover. 

Lock Isaia Walker-Leawere retains his starting spot and partners James Blackwell, while Bay of Plenty lock Justin Sangster looks to add impact off the bench.  

Reed Prinsep will take his regular blindside position, while Blake Gibson lines up at openside alongside Captain Ardie Savea at eight. Utility Caleb Delany will come off the bench. 

Jackson Garden-Bachop replaces Aidan Morgan in the number 10 jersey and partners TJ Perenara who dotted down his 58th Super Rugby try on Tuesday, bringing the Hurricanes to 10,000 super rugby points, becoming only the second franchise to reach this milestone. Jamie Booth will look to provide cover. 

Winger Salesi Rayasi retains his starting spot on the left with Julian Savea returns to the right after sitting out Tuesday’s game.  

In the midfield, Jordie Barrett returns to second-five, with Bailyn Sullivan at centre. Peter Umaga-Jensen will provide a quality option off the bench. 

After an impressive performance off the bench on Tuesday, Josh Moorby steps up to start at full-back. 

The Hurricanes take on the Highlanders this Saturday, 16 April, 7:05PM at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin. The match will be televised live on Sky Sport. 


Hurricanes team to take on the Highlanders:     

1 Pouri Rakete-Stones 
2 Asafo Aumua 
3 Tevita Mafileo 
4 James Blackwell 
5 Isaia Walker-Leawere 
6 Reed Prinsep 
7 Blake Gibson 
8 Ardie Savea (c)  
9 TJ Perenara  
10 Jackson Garden-Bachop 
11 Salesi Rayasi 
12 Jordie Barrett 
13 Bailyn Sullivan 
14 Julian Savea 
15 Josh Moorby 

16 Kianu Kereru-Symes 
17 Xavier Numia 
18 Pasilio Tosi 
19 Justin Sangster 
20 Caleb Delany 
21 Jamie Booth 
22 Aidan Morgan 
23 Peter Umaga-Jensen 

Unavailable for selection due to injury or personal circumstances: Tyrel Lomax, Du'Plessis Kirifi, Devan Flanders. 

Latest News

Hurricanes Team Named to take on the Rebels at Sky Stadium

Thu 19th May

The Hurricanes have named their side to take on the Melbourne Rebels this coming Saturday, in what will be their final home match of the regular...

Hurricanes U20 team named for Bunnings Warehouse Super Rugby U20s

Wed 18th May

The Hurricanes have named their final squad to head to the Bunnings Warehouse Super Rugby U20 competition in Taupō later this week. 

The squad –...

Team Named for Saturday's Clash Against the Waratahs

Thu 12th May

The Hurricanes are preparing for their next match on Australian soil as they head to Sydney to take on the Waratahs this Saturday, 9:45PM NZT at...