Skip to main content

Hurricanes Super 20s Development Squad for 2022 Announced

Tue 30th Nov

Forty-five emerging players from the Hurricanes region have been selected for the Hurricanes Super 20s Development Squad.  

Selected from around the Hurricanes region, the forty-five players come from Provincial Union Under-19 teams, as well as Hurricanes Heartland Under-20s and Hurricanes Under-18s.  

The players are headed to Wellington later this week, for testing and induction into the Hurricanes programme.

Recruitment & Development Manager Darren Larsen said he was excited to get the group together before the Christmas break.

"It's always exciting for these young men who have come through the Hurricanes pathway structure to visit the training base and be around our environment and staff. The boys know they have a very real chance of turning rugby into a career if they work hard in this part of their career.” 

Following their induction and testing, the players will head back to their provincial academies and prepare for the 2022 season. 26 players will then be selected for the 2022 Super Rugby Under-20s tournament in Tāupo, from 18-26 March 2022. Here they will compete against under-20 squads from the Chiefs, Blues, Crusaders, Highlanders, and NZ Barbarians.  


The 2022 Hurricanes U20 Squad are: 

Ezra Malo 

Horowhenua Kapiti   
Darren Falaniko 

Malakai Ngatai-Hala 
Raymond Tuputupu 
Sase Va'a  
Feleti Sae Ta'ufo'ou 
Joshua Taula  
Hunter Morrison  
Lawrence Leung-Wai 
AJ Malili-Malo-Lauano 
Elyjah Crosswell  
Jared Sellwood 
Jordan Viljoen 
Moape Rokosuka  
Isaiah Armstrong - Ravula 
Kyle Brown 
Chance Malu 
Tavita Henare-Schuster 
Logan Henry  

Hawkes Bay  
Matt Monaghan  
Kaihau Pasikala  
Cooper Flanders  
Harry Godfrey  
Jonty Stewart  
Kere Penitito  
Josiah Sakaria 

Wairarapa Bush   
Tupou Faiana Lea'aemanu 
Logan Wakefield 

Joyner Gaualofa  
Siale Lauaki  
Bradley Crichton  
Nonu Tuia 
Maea Tema-Schmidt 
Dominic Ropeti  
Sione Halalilo 
Peter Lakai  
Toby Crosby 
Sam Howling  
Logan Love 
Riley Higgins 
Tofuka Paongo 
Sapati Tagoai 
TJ Clarke 
Owen Wright 
Chicago Doyle 

Latest News

Whanganui-born First Five Brett Cameron Signs with the Hurricanes

Mon 25th Jul

Former Crusaders First Five Brett Cameron has put pen to paper to join the Hurricanes for 2023 DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition. 

Following a...

Hawke’s Bay Duo Recommit to Hurricanes Through 2024

Mon 27th Jun

The Hurricanes today announced that Hawke’s Bay players, powerful lock Isaia Walker-Leawere and loosie Devan Flanders, have recommitted to the Club...

Josh Moorby recommits to the Hurricanes for 2023 and 2024

Mon 20th Jun

For former Southland Stags outside back Josh Moorby (Ngāti Maniapoto), 2022 just keeps getting better and better.  

The Hurricanes today announced...