Skip to main content

Hurricanes Poua primed for Matatū at Sky Stadium

Ngatai Walker and his coaches have named their Hurricanes Poua side to take on Matatū for the team's first home match of Sky Super Rugby Aupiki (SRA) at Sky Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Only two changes have been made from the starting lineup that took on Chiefs Manawa in Round One last week, with halfback and Vice-Captain Iritana Hohaia returning, while Leilani Hakiwai comes onto the right wing. Front rower Tori Iosefo is set to make her SRA debut from the bench.

The Poua will be led by Captain Jackie Patea-Fereti with Layla Sae also named as Vice-Captain.

Walker is expecting a strong response from Matatū after the Poua defeated the defending SRA champions by one point in their recent preseason match.

“We can’t wait to play our first home game in front of our families and our communities at Sky Stadium,” he said.

“We know Matatū are a proud side and will be eager to have another go at us after our preseason game, but we’re pumped and ready for the challenge again.”

While pleased with his side’s efforts and intent last week, Walker said he was looking for more consistency from the team going into the match against the Christchurch-based side.

“We played well in periods against Chiefs Manawa, but we need to make sure we’re consistently relentless for the whole match and that is something we have been focussing on this week. If we can do that, we know we can put in a performance our people will be proud of.

“But the team is super excited and have prepared really well. We are now looking to put on a great display of rugby in front of our home supporters.”

Kick-off for the match against Matatū is at 4.35pm at Sky Stadium in Wellington on Saturday, 9 March.

The game will be the first of a double-header with the Hurricanes Men’s side, which kicks-off at 7.05pm, following the Poua’s match.

Hurricanes Poua SRA Round Two team to play Matatū

1. Denise Aiolupotea

2. Cristo Taufua (nee Tofa)

3. Leilani Perese

4. Rachael Rakatau

5. Jackie Patea-Fereti (Captain)

6. Elinor-Plum King

7. Rhiarna Ferris

8. Layla Sae (VC)

9. Iritana Hohaia (VC)

10. Hannah King

11. Harmony Kautai

12. Monica Tagoai

13. Shakira Baker

14. Leilani Hakiwai

15. Isabella Waterman


16. Tori Iosefo (Debut)

17. Tamia Edwards

18. Sam Taylor

19. Cilia-Marie Po'e Tofaeono

20. Rangimarie Sturmey

21. Paige Lush

22. Kahurangi Sturmey

23. Kalyn Takitimu-Cook

Latest News