Skip to main content

Hurricanes Poua name side for clash with Chiefs Manawa

Sky Super Rugby Aupiki (SRA) has arrived with the Hurricanes Poua about to kick-off their 2024 campaign this Saturday against Chiefs Manawa in Hamilton at FMG Stadium Waikato.

Coming off a hard fought one-point win over Matatū last week in the preseason, Head Coach Ngatai Walker has settled on his playing 23 for Round One, which includes ten debutants. 

Experienced Lock Jackie Patea-Fereti will captain the side, with Layla Sae named as vice-captain.

Walker said picking his side for Saturday wasn’t an easy task after a strong display by the entire squad during preseason. But it is a ‘headache’ he happily welcomes going into the start of the competition.

“We have a whole squad that are competing for places, so it made it very hard for the coaches to settle on a starting side. But that is exactly what we are wanting.” he said.

“Our players have trained hard and put in strong efforts in our internal trial in Palmerston North and against Matatū in Christchurch last week. So, we are excited as a group to start Sky Super Rugby Aupiki after a positive pre-season of connecting on and off the field throughout our Hurricanes region.

“We are feeling ready to play. The team is clear on what they want to achieve and how they want to play and now is time to execute their skills. There are a few new players in the team this year, but we are very proud of the way our first year SRA players have come in and learned their roles and competed for selection.”

Hurricanes Poua v Chiefs Manawa – Saturday, 2 March, at FMG Stadium Waikato. Kick-off 2.05pm.

Hurricanes Poua SRPA Round One team to play Chiefs Manawa

  1. Denise Aiolupotea (Debut)
  2. Cristo Taufua
  3. Leilani Perese
  4. Rachael Rakatau
  5. Jackie Patea-Fereti (Captain)
  6. Elinor-Plum King (Debut)
  7. Rhiarna Ferris
  8. Layla Sae (Vice-Captain)
  9. Paige Lush (Debut)
  10. Hannah King (Debut)
  11. Harmony Kautai (Debut)
  12. Monica Tagoai
  13. Shakira Baker
  14. Rangimarie Sturmey
  15. Isabella Waterman


  1. Marilyn Fanoga
  2. Tamia Edwards (Debut)
  3. Kalyn Takitimu-Cook (Debut)
  4. Cilia-Marie Po’e Tofaeono
  5. Sam Taylor (Debut)
  6. Kelsyn McCook (Debut)
  7. Kahurangi Sturmey
  8. Leilani Hakiwai (Debut)



Latest News

  • Lock Forwards Recommit to Hurricanes

    Lock Forwards Isaia Walker-Leawere and Caleb Delany have re-committed to the Hurricanes, which will see the pair remain at the club until the end of…

  • Hurricanes Named for Drua Clash

    After an explosive night of action at Sky Stadium on Saturday, the Hurricanes attention shifts to a trip to Suva’s HFC Bank Stadium to take on the…

  • Bleyendaal Departs for Leinster Opportunity

    Hurricanes Assistant Coach Tyler Bleyendaal will be departing the club at the end of the 2024 DHL Super Rugby Pacific season and will take up a…