Skip to main content


Sun 21st Nov

Hurricanes Head Coach Jason Holland has announced his squad ahead of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific competition.  

11 players are in line to make their Hurricanes debut when the competition kicks off on February 18, and 7 fresh faces will see their introduction to Super Rugby.  

Bay of Plenty’s Justin Sangster and Pasilio Tosi, Southland’s Josh Moorby and Manawatu’s TK Howden join Wellington’s Caleb Delany in the final few spots in next year’s Hurricanes roster.   

Holland said he was delighted to welcome some fresh players into the Hurricanes environment. 

“I’m excited about our first year Hurricanes. We’ve got TK Howden and Justin Sangster coming onboard, both of whom have been dominant in the NPC this season and will be great to see where they can get to in their first full year at Super level.” 

“In the backs the majority of last year's group are back. But we are pleased to welcome Tei Walden, Bailyn Sullivan and Josh Moorby who will add great competition for spots in that backline.” 

The Hurricanes will have plenty of experience among the ranks, including All Blacks Ardie Savea, Dane Coles, Tyrel Lomax, Asafo Aumua, Jordie Barrett and TJ Perenara who will return to the capital following the All Blacks Northern Tour.  

“We are excited about the calibre of people we have in this squad. We’ve got six All Blacks returning home to help lead the team, guys with a massive work ethic, as well as some standout players from the NPC who we’ve been watching with great interest.” 

The selection sees former All Black lock Dominic Bird link up with the Hurricanes following a season with the Wellington Lions, and a successful stint in France. 

“You can’t beat the sort of experience he will bring to us. He’s a big man who has shown he can match it with some of the toughest forwards in a really challenging competition and we think he will bring real value to the club.” 

“He will bolster our set piece and complete a great balance in our locks.” 

Joining Bird is Wellington hooker James O’Reilly, earning his first full Super Rugby contract with the Hurricanes five years after making his debut for the club. 

The 2022 squad will officially assemble on January 6, leaving them around six weeks to prepare for the first pre-season fixture against the Blues at in Auckland on February 5, 2022.  


The 2022 Hurricanes squad is: 


Asafo Aumua, Dominic Bird, James Blackwell, Dane Coles, Caleb Delany, Alex Fidow, Devan Flanders, Owen Franks*, Blake Gibson, Te Kamaka (TK) Howden, Brayden Iose, Du'Plessis Kirifi, Tyler Laubscher, Tyrel  Lomax, Tevita Mafileo, Xavier Numia, James O'Reilly, Reed Prinsep, Pouri Rakete-Stones, Justin Sangster, Ardie Savea, Scott Scrafton, Pasilio Tosi, Isaia Walker-Leaware*  


Jordie Barrett, Jamie Booth, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Wes Goosen, Ruben Love, Joshua Moorby, Aidan Morgan, Pepesana Patafilo, TJ Perenara, Billy Proctor, Salesi Rayasi, Cam Roigard, Julian Savea, Bailyn Sullivan, Peter Umaga-Jensen, Teihorangi Walden 

*Long Term Injured Players (LTIP) 


The Hurricanes Full Super Rugby Pacific Draw:  

RD1: Waratahs v Hurricanes, Friday 18 February, Sydney 

RD2: Hurricanes v Chiefs, Friday 25 February, AAMI Park, Melbourne 

RD3: Hurricanes v Crusaders, Saturday 5 March, Sky Stadium, Wellington 

RD4: Hurricanes v Highlanders, Saturday 12 March, Sky Stadium, Wellington 

RD5: Brumbies v Hurricanes, Saturday 19 March, GIO Stadium, Canberra 

RD6: Blues v Hurricanes, Sunday 27 March, Eden Park, Auckland 


RD8: Hurricanes v Fijian Drua, Friday 8 April, Sky Stadium, Wellington 

RD9: Highlanders v Hurricanes, Saturday 16 April, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin 

RD10: Hurricanes v Reds, Saturday 23 April, Sky Stadium, Wellington 

RD11: Hurricanes v Moana Pasifika, Friday 29 April, Sky Stadium, Wellington 

RD12: Crusaders v Hurricanes, Friday 6 May, Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch 

RD13: Force v Hurricanes, Saturday 14 May, HBF Park, Perth 

RD14: Hurricanes v Rebels, Saturday 21 May, Sky Stadium, Wellington 

RD15: Moana Pasifika v Hurricanes, Saturday 28 May, Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland 

Latest News

Whanganui-born First Five Brett Cameron Signs with the Hurricanes

Mon 25th Jul

Former Crusaders First Five Brett Cameron has put pen to paper to join the Hurricanes for 2023 DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition. 

Following a...

Hawke’s Bay Duo Recommit to Hurricanes Through 2024

Mon 27th Jun

The Hurricanes today announced that Hawke’s Bay players, powerful lock Isaia Walker-Leawere and loosie Devan Flanders, have recommitted to the Club...

Josh Moorby recommits to the Hurricanes for 2023 and 2024

Mon 20th Jun

For former Southland Stags outside back Josh Moorby (Ngāti Maniapoto), 2022 just keeps getting better and better.  

The Hurricanes today announced...