Ngani Laumape dots down for one of his 15 tries during the 2017 Investec Super Rugby season. PHOTO: Getty Sport

Laumape, Aumua nominated for 2017 ASB Rugby Awards


Stand out Hurricanes midfielder Ngani Laumape is among the nominees for New Zealand Rugby's 2017 Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year Award.

Laumape, who scored a team-leading 15 tries in 17 matches for the Hurricanes this year, is up against two Crusaders in lock Sam Whitelock and first five Richie Mo'unga for the coveted award.

Laumape's nomination caps a year that saw him force his way into the All Blacks after just his second season with the Hurricanes.

And the 24-year-old's not the only Hurricanes player up for a gong at New Zealand Rugby's ASB Rugby Awards on December 14.

CAPTION: Hooker Asafo Aumua charges ahead during the 2017 Brisbane Global Tens tournament. PHOTO: Getty Sport

Young Wellington hooker Asafo Aumua, a Hurricanes development player in 2017 and recently named in the 2018 squad, is up for the age grade player of the year.

The 20-year-old's nomination comes at the end of a year that saw him play a key role in the World Cup winning New Zealand Under 20 side, star in the Mitre 10 Cup for the Wellington Lions, and make his All Blacks debut on the recent end of year tour.

Aumua is up against Under 20 teammates Braydon Ennor and Will Jordan and is also a contender for the new Duane Monkley Medal (formerly the Mitre 10 Cup player of the Year) where he will be up against Bay of Plenty's Mike Delany and Northland's Jack Goodhue.

The awards nominations feature a number of other players from within the Hurricanes region, most notably Manawatu's Sarah Goss.

World Cup Black Ferns stand out and World Series winning Black Ferns Sevens skipper Goss, is nominated for player of the year alongside World Rugby breakthrough player of the year Rieko Ioane, and Crusaders skipper and All Blacks second row Goliath, Sam Whitelock.

CAPTION: Sarah Goss in action for the Black Ferns Women's Sevens team during the 2017 World Series. PHOTO: Getty Sport

Goss is also in the running for the New Zealand Women's player of the year, along with prolific try scorer Portia Woodman, whose is also in the running Try of the Year, and formidable loose forward Aldora Itunu.  

Another Manawatu star, Selica Winiata is a contender for the new Fiao'o Fa'amausili Medal (Farah Palmer Cup Player of the Year).

Elsewhere, Horowhenua-Kapiti's Scott Cameron and Wanganui's Bryn Hudson are nominated for the Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year, while Horowhenua-Kapiti's Slade Sturmey is among the volunteer of the year contenders.

All award winners will be announced at the ASB Rugby Awards to be held at SKY City Convention Centre, in Auckland on Thursday 14 December 2017.  Follow the results as they happen on SKY TV's live broadcast and follow @allblacks on Twitter


Sky Television Fans Try of the Year
Hannah Brough (Waikato)
Toni Pulu (Chiefs)
Portia Woodman (Black Ferns)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Nick Mulvaney (North Harbour)
Slade Sturmey (Horowhenua Kapiti)
Sid Tatana (Wairarapa Bush)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)
Ben O'Keeffe (Wellington)
Paul Williams (Taranaki)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Asafo Aumua (Wellington)
Braydon Ennor (Canterbury)
Will Jordan (Tasman)

Mitre 10 Heartland Championship Player of the Year
Scott Cameron (Horowhenua Kapiti)
Eric Duff (Mid Canterbury)
Bryn Hudson (Wanganui)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)
Vilimoni Koroi (Otago)
Regan Ware (Bay of Plenty)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year
Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland)
Ruby Tui (Canterbury)
Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau)

Duane Monkley Medal (formerly the Mitre 10 Cup player of the Year)
Asafo Aumua (Wellington)
Mike Delany (Bay of Plenty)
Jack Goodhue (Northland)

Fiao'o Fa'amausili Medal (new for 2017)
Morgan Henderson (Otago)
Hazel Tubic (Counties Manukau)
Selica Winiata (Manawatu)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year
Ngani Laumape (Hurricanes)
Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders)
Sam Whitelock (Crusaders)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Rieko Ioane (Nga puhi / Te Whanau a Apanui)
Charlie Ngatai (Ngati Porou/Te Whanau a Apanui/Te Whakatahea)
Liam Squire (Ngai Tahu)

ASB Coach of the Year
Glenn Moore (Black Ferns)
Craig Philpott (U20)
Scott Robertson (Crusaders)

New Zealand Rugby Women's Player of the Year
Aldora Itunu (Auckland)
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)
Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau)

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland)
Sam Whitelock (Canterbury)

adidas Team of the Year
Black Ferns

Announced on 14 December:
Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby
NZRPA Kirk Award