Hurricanes 2018 draw released


Hurricanes fans will be treated to a home opener at Westpac Stadium against the defending Investec Super Rugby champion Crusaders in 2018.

The Crusaders match will be the first of four blockbuster New Zealand derby matches at Westpac Stadium with Highlanders, Chiefs and Blues all set to be welcomed to the ground known in the Hurricanes region as Our House.

Sanzaar has released the full draw for the revamped 15-team Investec Super Rugby tournament with the Hurricanes other home matches against the Sharks, Lions, Reds and Sunwolves, with one of those matches set to be taken to the regions.

The Hurricanes will not play the Stormers or Waratahs during the 2018 regular season.

Hurricanes memberships are on sale at and feature 7 home games at Our House including four derby games, free finals tickets, new partner benefits and access to All Blacks test tickets.

Adult memberships start at $129, kids from $49 and a new Family Zone 1 Adult + 1 Child package is priced at $149.

The Crusaders match on March 10, will be the Hurricanes third match of the 2018 season after kicking off their campaign with a two-match tour to Pretoria and Buenos Aries to play the Bulls and Jaguares respectively.

Hurricanes captain Dane Coles said he was already looking forward to kick off.

"Buenos Aries will be new territory and a new challenge for us as a team and it doesn't get much bigger than a home opener against the Crusaders in front of our home crowd and members."

Hurricanes chief executive Avan Lee said the draw represented great value for the club's members.

"We're really pleased to be able to offer our members an extra home derby match at the same price as 2017 and I think people will respond very positively to the new format. With fewer teams I think we will see even more competitive matches across the board."

The new competition format will see each team play 16 matches, including eight matches within their own Conference (home and away), and four matches against teams from each of the other Conferences (home or away).

The finals will comprise an eight team, seven match series with the three Conference winners joined by five wildcard qualifiers. In 2018 those five wildcard teams will be the next best performing teams based on competition points regardless of Conference.

The 2018 Investec Super Rugby conferences are:

New Zealand Conference: Blues, Chiefs, Crusaders, Highlanders, Hurricanes

Australian Conference: Brumbies, Rebels, Reds, Waratahs, Sunwolves

South African Conference:  Bulls, Lions, Sharks, Stormers, Jaguares. 

The Hurricanes 2018 Investec Super Rugby schedule is (home matches in bold)

Sunday, February 25, v Bulls, Pretoria, 4.15am

Sunday, March 4, v Jaguares, Buenos Aries, 10.40am

Saturday, March 10, v Crusaders, Westpac Stadium, 7.35pm


Saturday, March 24, v Highlanders, Westpac Stadium, 7.35pm

Friday, March 30, v Rebels, Melbourne, 9.45pm

Friday, April 6, v Sharks, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Friday, April 13, v Chiefs, Westpac Stadium, 7.35pm


Friday, April 27, v Sunwolves, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Saturday, May 5, v Lions, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Friday, May 11, v Blues, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Friday, May 18, v Reds, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Friday, May 25, v Crusaders, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Friday, June 1, v Highlanders, Venue TBC, 7.35pm

Saturday, June 30, v Brumbies, Canberra, 9.45pm

Saturday, July 7, v Blues, Westpac Stadium, 7.35pm

Friday, July 13, v Chiefs, Venue TBC, 7.35pm 

*For the full Investec Super Rugby draw CLICK HERE