Beauden Barrett with the men's World Rugby Player of the Year Award. PHOTO: Getty Sport

Barrett named 2017 World Rugby Men's Player of the Year


Beauden Barrett has done it again.

The Hurricanes first five has been named as the 2017 World Rugby Men's Player of the Year at the annual awards night in Monte Carlo on Sunday.

Barrett scooped the top men's prize for the second year running after being crowned the best player in the world at the corresponding awards in 2017.

The 26-year-old becomes only the second player to win the prestigious award two years in a row, matching the achievement of his former All Blacks captain Richie McCaw from 2009-10.

Barrett received the award ahead of four other nominees in All Blacks team-mate Rieko Ioane, England and British Lions duo Owen Farrell and Maro Itoje and Australia full-back Israel Folau.

"I'm very proud and surprised. I wanted to be better than last year and I still think I have plenty more to go," Barrett said. "The Lions series put us under the most pressure I have probably felt in a black jersey and that's a credit to the Lions.

"We learnt a lot from that series, particularly taking that into the World Cup. When I hang the boots up, that's when I can look back and be really proud of this. I've got to thank my team. I am just one player amongst a great team."

During an impressive 2017 season in the No.10 jersey Barrett celebrated his 50th test for the All Blacks against Samoa with a two-try, 24-point haul and a piece of All Blacks history alongside his brothers, fellow Hurricanes player Jordie and Scott, and finished the Lions series as top point scorer with 41.

The attack-minded fly-half, who is equally at home at full-back, continued to torment defences with his instinctive play and captained the All Blacks for the first time in the non-capped victory over the Barbarians earlier this month.

Beauden Barrett's form bodes well for the Hurricanes in 2018 where he will embark on his eighth season with the club after making his Investec Super Rugby debut in 2011.

Since then the Taranaki pivot has played 97 matches for the Hurricanes and scored 998 points.

Barrett's award in Monte Carlo completed a New Zealand double with Black Ferns star Portia Woodman named as the World Rugby Women's Player of the Year for 2017.

Woodman helped the Black Ferns win a fifth Women's Rugby World Cup title in Ireland in August.

She received the award ahead of four other nominees in Black Ferns team-mate Kelly Brazier, England winger Lydia Thompson and France back-row duo Romane Menager and Safi N'Diaye.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said: "It has been an outstanding 2017 for rugby on and off the field and tonight we have recognised and celebrated those who have made it so special.

"From the players, teams and coaches who have inspired millions of fans to the unsung volunteers and projects who at community level are the foundation of our great game, we salute them all.

"Congratulations to all our nominees and award winners who have not just displayed excellence, but who embody rugby's character-building values."

The award winners were selected by an independent panel, who voted on every match from the Six Nations through to the start of the November internationals. For more details on the respective awards panels, click here

Full list of World Rugby Awards winners

World Rugby Men's Player of the Year, in association with Mastercard - Beauden Barrett (New Zealand)
World Rugby Women's Player of the Year, in association with Mastercard - Portia Woodman (New Zealand)
World Rugby Team of the Year - New Zealand Women's 15s
World Rugby Coach of the Year - Eddie Jones (England)
World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year in association with TUDOR - Rieko Ioane (New Zealand)
World Rugby Men's Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC - Perry Baker (USA)
World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC - Michaela Blyde (New Zealand)
World Rugby Referee Award - Joy Neville (Ireland)
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service - Marcel Martin (France)
Award for Character - Eduardo Oderigo (Argentina)
IRPA Special Merit Award - Richie McCaw (New Zealand) and Rachael Burford (England)
IRPA Try of the Year - Joaquin Tuculet (Argentina, v England)