Skip to main content

Hurricanes squad named for home clash against Sharks

Thu 13th Feb

Dane Coles has been named in the 23-man squad set to take on the Sharks at Sky Stadium this Saturday.

It’s the first home game of the 2020 season and comes off the back of a 26 - 23 win against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

Coles, who returns from injury, will start the game on the bench, but says he’s excited at the potential of getting in some game time.

“It’s been a while, but I’m feeling in good nick. I have been working hard to get back out there and I’m looking forward to having a run.”

He says coming back in time for ‘Opening Night’ is exciting.

“We love getting out there in front of our fans at Sky Stadium. Home games are pretty special.”

TJ Perenara will captain the side, which remains largely unchanged from last weekend.

Vince Aso will replace Billy Proctor at outside centre, while Scott Scrafton makes a return to the forward pack.  In the loose forwards, Reed Prinsep will start at number 8 with Gareth Evans moving to openside, while Vaea Fifita makes his first start of the season.

Jackson Garden-Bachop gets his second start in a row at first-five with Fletcher Smith back on the bench.

Head coach, Jason Holland, says it’s a competitive environment in the team.

“We have an excellent squad. Whoever gets their opportunity this week needs to take it as there are a lot of boys lining up to get a crack.”

The Sharks have scored more tries against the Hurricanes than any other South African side.

In a match up last year, the Hurricanes walked away with a 30 – 17 win – but Holland says it’s always a tough encounter.

“The Sharks are a physical side with a big kicking game – not too dissimilar from the style the Springboks adopted to win the World Cup. They’ve got a back three who will take opportunities we give them.”

Join the Hurricanes for Opening Night against the Sharks on Saturday February 15 at 7:05pm – grab an Adult ticket for $20.20 using code ‘2020’.

Click HERE to grab your tickets!

The Hurricanes team to Face the Sharks at Sky Stadium is:

15 Jordie Barrett

14 Wes Goosen

13 Vince Aso

12 Ngani Laumape 

11 Ben Lam

10 Jackson Garden-Bachop

9 TJ Perenara [C]

8 Reed Prinsep

7 Gareth Evans

6 Vaea Fifita

5 Scott Scrafton

4 Isaia Walker-Leawere

3 Tyrel Lomax

2 Asafo Aumua

1 Fraser Armstrong


16 Dane Coles

17 Pouri Rakete-Stones

18 Alex Fidow

19 Liam Mitchell

20 Du’Plessis Kirifi

21 Jamie Booth

22 Fletcher Smith

23 Billy Proctor

Latest News

Hurricanes name squad to face Sunwolves in Napier

Thu 27th Feb

Hawke’s Bay’s Hurricanes fans will be able to watch four of their own take to the field in Napier this Saturday.

Gareth Evans, Devan Flanders, Ben...

Hurricanes U20 side named to play in Napier

Wed 26th Feb

A strong 23-man Hurricanes Under 20s side has been named to play at Napier’s McLean Park on Saturday.

With kick-off at 2:05pm, the clash against the...

All-Time Hurricanes Magpies XV

Tue 25th Feb

Hawke’s Bay has always been an important part of the Hurricanes club since its inception in 1996.

That has included not only playing an important...