Skip to main content

Hurricanes named to face Blues

Thu 5th Feb

Hurricanes coach Chris Boyd has named his team to face the Blues in what is their last preseason match before the 2015 Super Rugby season kicks off.

Ben May will mark his return to the Hurricanes with a run off the bench, while Callum Gibbins also looks set to return from a knee injury.

Dane Coles, Conrad Smith, Ben Franks, Victor Vito, Beauden Barrett, Julian Savea, Motu Matu'u and Chris Smylie will also travel to Auckland, but will not play against the Blues. Following Friday's match, a squad of 27 will be named to travel to South Africa.

Ma'a Nonu will remain in New Zealand while he awaits the birth of his third child. He will join the team in South Africa on February 12, but will not play the Hurricanes' first match against the Lions.

The team to face the Blues at QBE Stadium on Friday, kick-off 4pm is;

1. Reggie Goodes

2. Brayden Mitchell

3. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen

4. Jeremy Thrush

5. James Broadhurst

6. Brad Shields

7. Ardie Savea

8. Blade Thomson

9. TJ Perenara

10. James Marshall

11. Jason Woodward

12. Rey Lee-Lo

13. Matt Proctor

14. Cory Jane

15. Nehe Milner-Skudder


16. Leni Apisai

17. Chris Eves

18. Ben May

19. Geoff Cridge

20. Vaea Fifita

21. Mark Abbott

22. Callum Gibbins

23. Frae Wilson

24. Otere Black

25. Vince Aso

Latest News

Whanganui-born First Five Brett Cameron Signs with the Hurricanes

Mon 25th Jul

Former Crusaders First Five Brett Cameron has put pen to paper to join the Hurricanes for 2023 DHL Super Rugby Pacific competition. 

Following a...

Hawke’s Bay Duo Recommit to Hurricanes Through 2024

Mon 27th Jun

The Hurricanes today announced that Hawke’s Bay players, powerful lock Isaia Walker-Leawere and loosie Devan Flanders, have recommitted to the Club...

Josh Moorby recommits to the Hurricanes for 2023 and 2024

Mon 20th Jun

For former Southland Stags outside back Josh Moorby (Ngāti Maniapoto), 2022 just keeps getting better and better.  

The Hurricanes today announced...