Skip to main content

Hurricanes 2019 Super Rugby draw released

Tue 12th Jun

A trans-Tasman clash against former champions the Brumbies will kick start the Hurricanes home schedule for the 2019 Investec Super Rugby season after the draw was released today.

The first home game for the Hurricanes will take place on Friday, March 1, after the side returns from away matches to the Waratahs and the Crusaders.

The clash against the Brumbies will be followed a week later by the first of what should be eight eagerly anticipated derby matches against New Zealand opposition when the Hurricanes host the Highlanders.

Overall, the Hurricanes have a good mix of matches played on Friday and Saturday nights with one early kick-off scheduled for early May when the Rebels head to New Zealand for a 5.15pm match.

Other highlights of the schedule include the visit of the Crusaders on Friday, March 29, while the Jaguares will play the Hurricanes in New Zealand for just the second time on Friday, May 17.

The Hurricanes have been given a bye in round nine and round 15 while the competition continues throughout June with no international window.

Venues for the matches are still being finalised but will be released in September.

Hurricanes memberships will go on sale in early September and feature seven home games at Our House including derby matches, free finals tickets for platinum adult members, partner benefits and access to All Blacks test tickets.

Confirmed Hurricanes home matches for 2019:

V Brumbies (Friday, March 1, 7.35pm)

V Highlanders (Friday, March 8, 7.35pm)

V Stormers (Saturday, March 23, 7.35pm)

V Crusaders (Friday, March 29, 7.35pm

V Chiefs (Saturday, April 27, 7.35pm)

V Rebels (Saturday, May 4, 5.15pm)

V Jaguares (Friday, May 17, 7.35pm)

V Blues (Saturday, June 15, 7.35pm)

Confirmed Hurricanes away matches for 2019 (NZ times):

V Waratahs (Saturday, February 16, 9.45pm)

V Crusaders (Saturday, February 23, 7.35pm)

V Chiefs (Friday, March 15, 7.35pm)

V Highlanders (Friday, April 5, 7.35pm)

V Sunwolves (Saturday, April 20, 5.15pm)

V Blues (Friday, May 10, 7.35pm)

V Sharks (Sunday, June 2, 1.05am)

V Lions (Sunday, June 9, 1.05am)

 

 

 

Latest News


Laumape back-to-back Hurricanes Player of the Year

Thu 2nd Aug

Midfielder Ngani Laumape has been named Hurricanes Player of the Year for the second season in a row.

Laumape picked up the prestigious award at the...


CANES 2018: By The Numbers

Wed 1st Aug

The 2018 Investec Super Rugby season almost mirrored the year before for the Hurricanes after they were beaten in the semi-finals by the defending...


Hurricanes season ends after semi-final loss

Sun 29th Jul

The Hurricanes have been unable to halt the progress of the defending Investec Super Rugby champion Crusaders after they lost Saturday night's...