Skip to main content

Dane Coles to lead Hurricanes against Chiefs

Wed 21st Apr

Dane Coles will step up to lead the Hurricanes in Friday night’s Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa match against the Chiefs in a week which saw the veteran hooker commit to the club for the next two years.

Coles replaces the injured Ardie Savea as leader after the dynamic loose forward was ruled out for six to eight weeks with a knee injury.

No stranger to leading the Hurricanes, after captaining the club to its first ever Super Rugby title in 2016, Coles said it was a ‘no brainer’ to step up and lead the side on to FMG Stadium Waikato.

“I’m one of the leaders in our group and it would not be right to ask someone else to do a job I’m really proud to do,” he said.

“While we haven’t got the results we wanted so far this season I can see the attitude is still right amongst the boys and we are really looking forward to getting up to Hamilton and putting together a really good performance.”

Hurricanes head coach Jason Holland has made three changes to the starting XV which lost in extra time against the Crusaders before the side had a bye last week.

Scott Scrafton, who also extended his contract with the club last week, returns at lock while Du’Plessis Kirifi comes in for Savea.

Wing Salesi Rayasi also makes a return with Wes Goosen switching to the No 14 jersey.

Manawatu loose-forward Brayden Iose is set for a debut from the bench.

Holland said the team remain determined to finish the Sky Super Rugby Aotearoa campaign on a high.

“I haven’t been able to fault the attitude of the entire squad all the way through and I know the desire is really there to show we are better than the results that have come our way.”

Kick-off at FMG Stadium Waikato is 7.05pm.

The Hurricanes squad to face the Chiefs is:

1             XAVIER NUMIA
2             DANE COLES ©
3             TYREL LOMAX
4             JAMES BLACKWELL
5             SCOTT SCRAFTON
6             REED PRINSEP
7             DU’PLESSIS KIRIFI
8             DEVAN FLANDERS
9             LUKE CAMPBELL
10           RUBEN LOVE
11           SALESI RAYASI
12           NGANI LAUMAPE
14           WES GOOSEN
15           JORDIE BARRETT

16.          ASAFO AUMUA
18.          ALEX FIDOW
20.          VAEA FIFITA
21.          BRAYDEN lOSE
22.          CAM ROIGARD
23.          BILLY PROCTOR


Latest News

All Black Ardie Savea Recommits to the Hurricanes

Tue 30th Nov

2021 Hurricanes Captain Ardie Savea has officially put pen-to-paper on a new deal that will keep him in the capital with the Hurricanes until end of...

Hurricanes Super 20s Development Squad for 2022 Announced

Tue 30th Nov

Forty-five emerging players from the Hurricanes region have been selected for the Hurricanes Super 20s Development Squad.  

Selected from around the...


Sun 21st Nov

Hurricanes Head Coach Jason Holland has announced his squad ahead of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific competition.  

11 players are in line to make their...